Our structure

13SICK, National Home Doctor Service is Australia's largest network of home visiting doctors. Proudly Australian, our service has a 30 year history of providing urgent medical care after hours when GP Practices are closed. 13SICK combined the strengths of long term industry leaders: Family Care Medical Services; Melbourne Medical Deputising Service; and GPSolutions. More than 7,000 GPs trust 13SICK to look after their patients after hours.

Accredited to the standards of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, with Australian General Practice Accreditation Limited and GPAour reputation for quality care is built on the solid foundation of our Clinical Advisory Group.

Clinical Advisory Group

Our Clinical Advisory Group is a team of distinguished Medical Directors from around the country who oversee medical governance, and set and review all clinical policies and procedures. The Group also advises Board and Management and offers valuable mentoring to our team of Doctors.

  • Dr Nicholas Demediuk

    Dr Nicholas Demediuk


    Medical Director - VIC

    • Medical Director, Parkmore Medical Centre and Dr Snip Vasectomy Centre
    • Deputy Director, Professional Services Review
    • Board member, South East Melbourne Primary Health Network, FRACGP (Vic Faculty), AGPAL.
  • Dr Bers Wenck

    Dr Beres Wenck

    Medical Director - QLD

    • Rose-Hunt Award recipient (2012) for outstanding commitment to Australian General Practice
    • AMAQ President's Award (2007) for outstanding contributions to Queensland's health system
    • Past President, Brisbane North Division of General Practice.
  • Dr Umberto Russo

    Chief Medical Officer

    • Founding Partner, gpSolutions, Adelaide's leading medical deputising service prior to its merger with 13SICK. National Home Doctor Service
    • 23 years' experience in medical deputising
    • National Representative on various infection control and sterilization committees, including the National Infection Control Guidelines Steering Committee. 
  • Dr Spiro Doukakis

    Dr Spiro Doukakis


    GM - Clinical Governance, SA

    • Founding Partner, gpSolutions, Adelaide's leading medical deputising service prior to its merger with National Home Doctor Service
    • Acting Medical Director, Western Australia for National Home Doctor Service
    • Vice President, Medical Director, National Association of Medical Deputising (NAMDS).
  • Dr Bernd Lorenzen

    Dr Bernd Lorenzen


    Medical Director - SA

    • Bariatric Practitioner, Adelaide Bariatric Centre
    • Past Chairman, Royal College of General Practitioners (and Former Board member overseeing general practice training in South Australia
    • Held a number of positions within the SA Health Commission and conducted medical research at the Women's and Children's Hospital and remains a trustee of one of its research foundations. 
  • Dr Paresh Dawda

    Dr Paresh Dawda


    Medical Director - ACT

    • Works as a GP and ACT Regional Medical Director at Ochre Health in Canberra
    • Visiting Fellow, School of Population Health, ANU
    • Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Canberra
    • Board Member - Heart Foundation (ACT)
    • Member NSW and ACT Faculty Board RACGP and Member of RACGP Expert Committee on Quality Care.
  • Dr Jonathan Levy

    Dr Jonathan Levy

    MBBS, BSc (Medical Psychology), FRACGP, FARGP 

    Medical Director - VIC 

    • Trained in the UK, background in Emergency. Special interest in education
    • Teacher and mentor with National Home Doctor Service
    • Ongoing role as a Senior Lecturer for the University of Queensland and weekend practical surgical teaching and didactic lecturing. 
  • Dr Rajendra Prakash

    DSM, Dip Sports Med, FRACGP 

    Medical Director - QLD 

    • Medical educator for AMC bridging programme 2006-2014. RACGP examiner since 2006
    • Visiting Medical Officer - Queensland Health. Member - Service Improvement Group for Kilcoy hospital and Woodford correctional health
    • Active role in induction of new deputising GPs, supervision of DGPs , promoting ongoing education, conducting CPD activities, clinical reviews and audits. 

Executive management team

  • John Pappalardo

    Chief Executive Officer

  • Dr Umberto Russo

    Chief Medical Officer

  • David Wiggins

    Chief Financial Officer